Fifth Republic


From: 20/06/1969
To: 04/07/1972

Prime Minister Jacques Chaban-Delmas UDR
Minister of State and Minister of National Defence Michel Debré UDR
Minister of State and Minister of Cultural Affairs Edmond Michelet UDR
Minister of State and Minister of Relations with the Parliament Roger Frey UDR
Minister of Foreign Affairs Maurice Schumann UDR
Minister of Interior Raymond Marcellin FNRI
Minister of Economy and Finance Valéry Giscard d´Estaing FNRI
Minister of Justice René Pleven CDP
Minister of Labour, Employment and Population Joseph Fontanet CDP
Minister of National Education Olivier Guichard UDR
Minister of Public Health and Social Welfare Robert Boulin UDR
Minister of Agriculture Jacques Duhamel CDP
Minister of Transports Raymond Mondon FNRI
Minister of Industrial and Scientific Development François-Xavier Ortoli UDR
Minister of Infrastructure and Housing Albin Chalandon UDR
Minister of Posts and Telecommunications Robert Galley UDR
Minister of Veterans and War Victims Henri Duvillard UDR
Delegate Minister of the Planning and Land Use André Bettencourt FNRI
Delegate Minister of Departments and Territories Overseas Henri Rey UDR

Please cite the following database as: Casal Bértoa, F. (2023): Database on WHO GOVERNS in Europe and beyond, PSGo. Available at: