Fourth Republic

Pleven I

From: 12/07/1950
To: 28/02/1951

Prime Minister René Pleven UDSR
Minister of State Jean Letourneau MRP
Minister of State Guy Mollet SFIO
Minister of Foreign Affairs Robert Schuman MRP
Minister of Interior Henri Queuille PRS
Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs Maurice Petsche INDEP.
Minister of the Budget Edgar Faure PRS
Minister of Justice René Mayer PRS
Minister of National Defence Jules Moch SFIO
Minister of Labour and Social Security Paul Bacon MRP
Minister of National Education Pierre-Clivier Lapie SFIO
Minister of Public Health and Populations Pierre Schneiter MRP
Minister of Agriculture Pierre Pflimlin MRP
Minister of Public Works, Transport and Tourism Antoine Pinay CNI
Minister of Industry and Trade Jean-Marie Louvel MRP
Minister of Information Albert Gazier SFIO
Minister of Posts, Telegraphs and Telephones Charles Brune PRS
Minister of Reconstruction and Urbanism Eugène Claudius-Petit UDSR
Minister of French Overseas François Mitterrand UDSR
Minister of Merchant Marine Gaston Defferre SFIO
Minister of Veterans and War Victims Louis Jacquinot CNI
Minister without Portfolio Paul Giacobbi PRS

Please cite the following database as: Casal Bértoa, F. (2024): Database on WHO GOVERNS in Europe and beyond, PSGo. Available at: