Federal Republic of Germany

Merkel I

From: 22/11/2005
To: 27/09/2009

Chancellor Angela Merkel CDU
Vice-chancellor and Minister of Labour and Social Affairs Franz Mütefering SPD
Minister of Foreign Affairs Frank-Walter Steinmeier SPD
Minister of the Interior Wolfgang Schäuble CDU
Minister of Economy and Technology Michael Glos CSU
Minister of Finance Peer Steinbrück SPD
Minister of Justice Brigitte Zypries SPD
Minister of Defence Franz Josef Jung CDU
Minister of Education and Research Annette Schavan CDU
Minister of Health Ursula Schmidt SPD
Minister of Food, Agriculture and Consumer Protection Horst Seehofer CSU
Minister of Transport, Construction and Urban Affairs Wolfgang Tiefensee SPD
Minister of Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety Sigmar Gabriel SPD
Minister of Economic Cooperation and Development Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul SPD
Minister of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth Ursula von der Leyen CDU
Minister for Special Tasks Thomas de Maizière CDU

Please cite the following database as: Casal Bértoa, F. (2023): Database on WHO GOVERNS in Europe and beyond, PSGo. Available at: