Federal Republic of Germany

Merkel II

From: 28/10/2009
To: 22/09/2013

Chancellor Angela Merkel CDU
Vice-chancellor and Minister of Foreign Affairs Guido Westerwelle FDP
Minister of the Interior Thomas de Maizière CDU
Minister of Economy and Technology Rainer Brüderle FDP
Minister of Finance Wolgang Schäuble CDU
Minister of Justice Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger FDP
Minister of Defence Karl-Theoder zu Guttenberg CSU
Minister of Labour and Social Affairs Franz Josef Jung CDU
Minister of Education and Research Annette Schavan CDU
Minister of Health Philipp Rösler FDP
Minister of Food, Agriculture and Consumer Protection Ilse Aigner CSU
Minister of Transport, Construction and Urban Affairs Peter Ramsauer CSU
Minister of Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety Norbert Röttgen CDU
Minister of Economic Cooperation and Development Dirk Niebel FDP
Minister of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth Ursula von der Leyen CDU
Minister for Special Tasks Ronald Pofalla CDU

Please cite the following database as: Casal Bértoa, F. (2023): Database on WHO GOVERNS in Europe and beyond, PSGo. Available at: