Federal Republic of Germany

Merkel IV

From: 14/03/2018
To: 26/09/2021

Chancellor Angela Merkel CDU
Vice-chancellor and Minister of Finance Olaf Scholz SPD
Minister of Foreign Affairs Heiko Maas SPD
Minister of the Interior, Homeland and Building Horst Seehofer CSU
Minister of Justice and Consumer Protection Katarina Barley SPD
Minister of Defence Ursula von der Leyen CDU
Minister of Labour and Social Affairs Hubertus Heil SPD
Minister of Education and Research Anja Karliczek CDU
Minister of Health Jens Spahn CDU
Minister of Food and Agriculture Julia Klöckner CDU
Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure Andreas Scheuer CSU
Minister of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth Franziska Giffey SPD
Minister of Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety Svenja Schulze SPD
Minister of Economic Cooperation and Development Gerd Müller CSU
Minister for Special Tasks Helge Braun CDU

Please cite the following database as: Casal Bértoa, F. (2023): Database on WHO GOVERNS in Europe and beyond, PSGo. Available at: